As part of our aim to regenerate communities and create jobs we have provided £3.5 million BIF funding towards the regeneration of St Comgall’s on Divis Street. The project has also received match funding from the Northern Ireland Office’s Social Investment Fund.
We are delivering the project, which will restore this Grade B1 listed, former school building to create a multi-use community facility, on behalf of Falls Community Council (FCC).
FCC recognised the significance of this historic building, which will be brought back into use for the benefit of current and future generations, providing an opportunity to link the past and the present and reinstate the building as a vibrant community asset.
The site was occupied by the old Belfast Model School from 1855 until it was destroyed by fire in 1922.
The current two storey building, known as Comgall’s Public Elementary School, opened in December 1933 and closed in 1999.
Plans for St Comgall’s
The project is designed to promote economic, educational, social and cultural benefits for the people who live and work in the local area and to promote good relations between communities through the provision of a multi-use community hub. Once completed in 2020, the new facility will include:
- a multi-purpose function/conference hall, opening out onto a restored central courtyard
- exhibition space – enabling a rolling programme of themed exhibitions to take place
- a permanent visitor attraction outlining the history of the local area
- office accommodation and hot-desking provision for new business start-ups
- a café and information point, providing a much needed local amenity to service visitors to the area.