A-Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Friendship Four

The Friendship Four ice hockey tournament will be returning to the SSE Arena, for its inaugural Women’s Friendship Four on Saturday 5 and Sunday 6 January 2019.

Two US National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) teams will open this new tournament – Northeastern University and Clarkson University.

Friendship Four 2018

The Women’s Friendship Four tournament comes hot on the heels of the fourth men’s Friendship Four tournament which took place over the Thanksgiving holiday, on Friday 23 and Saturday 24 November 2018. Competing in the 2018 event were:

  • Yale University
  • Union College
  • Boston University 
  • The University of Connecticut.
The winners of the 2018 tournament were Union College. 

Friendship Four 2019

Returning to Belfast for the Friendship Four 2019 men’s tournament are Colgate University and Northeastern University. They will be joined by newcomers Princetown University and the University of New Hampshire.

Background to the tournament 

The idea for the tournament stemmed from discussions when Belfast and Boston signed a Sister Cities Agreement in 2014 as part of our international relations work. Both mayors agreed that it would be a fantastic opportunity to raise the profiles of the cities involved.

The inaugural tournament took place in November 2015, with college teams competing for the first time ever outside the USA. Umass Lowell won in 2015, with University of Vermont winning the second tournament in 2016. 2017 saw Clarkson University lift the coveted Belpot trophy.

More information

For more information visit the Friendship Four website

Friendship Four partner logos - discover Northern Ireland, Odyssey Trust, Tourism Ireland, Department of Communities, Belfast Giants, Northern Irish connections, W5

Contact us
EU and International Relations Unit
028 9032 0202