A-Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Election 2014

The local election was held on 22 May 2014

60 councillors were elected, which is nine more than our current total of 51.

The increased number of councillors will represent the new Belfast boundary area, which will be larger after taking in parts of Lisburn, Castlereagh and North Down.

The councillors formed a 'shadow council' with the power to make key decisions, like appointing senior staff, setting rates and approving business and financial plans for the new council. It will operate in shadow form until 31 March 2015, before officially taking over as the new Belfast council on 1 April 2015.

  • To find out how local elections work and how to vote, visit our how to vote page.
  • To find which electoral ward you are in, visit NI Direct

District electoral areas and electoral wards

District electoral area (DEA)Electoral wards 
BalmoralBelvoir, Finaghy, Malone, Musgrave and Upper Malone  
Black Mountain  Andersonstown, Ballymurphy, Beechmount, Collin Glen, Falls Park, Shaw’s Road and Turf Lodge
Botanic Blackstaff, Central, Ormeau, Stranmillis and Windsor
Castle Bellevue, Cavehill, Chichester Park, Duncairn, Fortwilliam and Innisfayle
Collin Dunmurry, Ladybrook, Lagmore, Poleglass, Stewartstown and Twinbrook
Court Ballygomartin, Clonard, Falls, Forth River, Shankill and Woodvale
Cregagh, Hillfoot, Merok, Orangefield, Ravenhill and Rosetta 
Oldpark Ardoyne, Ballysillan, Cliftonville, Legoniel, New Lodge, and Water Works
Ormiston Belmont, Garnerville, Gilnahirk, Knock, Sandown, Shandon and Stormont
Titanic Ballymacarrett, Beersbridge, Bloomfield, Connswater, Sydenham and Woodstock