A-Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

BBC Radio 2 Folks Awards 2018

Date: 4 Apr 2018
Venue: Belfast Waterfront

A key highlight of the folk music calendar, the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards celebrate the UK’s thriving folk music scene and serve to raise the profile of the genre. The evening will welcome an array of special guests and will see performances from Cara Dillon, Paul Brady, Eliza Carthy and The Wayward Band and Lankum.

The nominees for the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2018 have now been announced, with this year’s awards ceremony, which will be presented by Mark Radcliffe and Julie Fowlis, taking place at the Belfast Waterfront, on Wednesday 4 April.

BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2018 nominations are:

Folk Singer of the Year

Cara Dillon
Julie Fowlis
Karine Polwart
Siobhan Miller

Best Duo

Chris Stout and Catriona McKay
O’Hooley and Tidow
Ross Ainslie and Ali Hutton

Best Group

Elephant Sessions
Eliza Carthy and The Wayward Band
Sam Kelly and The Lost Boys

Best Album

Eliza Carthy and The Wayward Band – Big Machine
Karine Polwart with Pippa Murphy – A Pocket of Wind Resistance
Lankum – Between the Earth and Sky
The Young’uns – Strangers

Horizon Award

Cohen Braithwaite-Kilcoyne
Georgia Lewis
Ryan Young

Musician of the Year

Martin Simpson
Mohsen Amini
Ross Ainslie
Tim Edey

Best Original Track

Be The Man - The Young’un
sCân y cŵn - Gwyneth Glyn
The Granite Gaze – Lankum
The Great Saint Lawrence River - Declan O’Rourke

Best Traditional Track

Banks of Newfoundland - Siobhan Miller
Lisa Lân - Alaw
Lowlands of Holland - Ye Vagabonds
The Life of a Man / Greensleeves - Chris Foster

BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award

Jack Warnock
Josiah & Ludwig
Mera Royle
The Drystones

The awards show will also include the presentation of a Lifetime Achievement Award, which will be announced at a later date.

Last year’s event saw performances by American roots-rock musician and songwriter, Ry Cooder, who took to the stage to sing Jesus On The Mainline, and British singer-songwriter Al Stewart, who performed his 1977 song, On The Border. The evening also saw spectacular performances from Afro Celt Sound System, Shirley Collins MBE and Billy Bragg, plus Folk icon Woody Guthrie was inducted into the Radio 2 Folk Awards Hall of Fame.


Tickets for this year’s event are available now from and cost £20 each plus booking fee. Please visit the BBC Radio 2 website for full details and to make a booking. If you don’t have access to the internet you will also be able to book tickets via the Belfast Waterfront phone line on 028 9033 4455.

More information

For further information simply visit or email a member of our City Events Unit at

BBC Folk Awards 2018

Suitable for everyone

Belfast Waterfront