A-Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

New Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor of Belfast elected at council AGM

4 Jun 2018
Councillor Deirdre Hargey has tonight become Belfast’s First Citizen, taking over the chain from outgoing Lord Mayor Councillor Nuala McAllister.

At its AGM tonight, Belfast City Council elected the Botanic councillor to the position of Lord Mayor making her the fifth female to hold the position.

Councillor Hargey has been a Member of Belfast City Council since 2010 when she took over the Laganbank seat from Sinn Fein party colleague Alex Maskey.

She was elected in 2011 and again in May 2014, this time representing the Botanic DEA.

Councillor Hargey said: “Belfast City Council has, and will continue to respond to the needs of the people of this city, as the needs arise.

“In my year in office I would like it to be defined in terms of rights – people’s rights, in the broadest sense of that meaning – and rights for all the diverse cultures to find their rightful place alongside that of the unionist and nationalist traditions.”

She added: “I will build on the efforts by other Lord Mayors to make Belfast an open and welcoming city to visitors; a City Council that not only aspires to equality but practises it and embeds it at all levels.”

Within Belfast City Council, Councillor Hargey is Sinn Fein’s party group leader and chair of the Women’s Steering Group.

She also sits on a number of outside bodies including NILGA, Visit Belfast, South Belfast Partnership Board and the Markets Community Centre Committee.

Councillor Emmet McDonough-Brown has been appointed Belfast’s Deputy Lord Mayor. The Alliance councillor is also a representative of the Botanic electoral area.

He takes over office from outgoing Deputy Lord Mayor Councillor Sonia Copeland.
Councillor Deirdre Hargey