Skip to main content

Your council

Our 60 elected councillors represent the people of Belfast.

We serve an overall population of 333,000 and are responsible for a range of powers and services, including land-use planning, community planning and off-street parking. We also have responsibility for enhanced economic, physical and social regeneration.

The 60 councillors represent the 10 areas of the council area.

District electoral area (DEA) Electoral wards
Balmoral Belvoir, Finaghy, Malone, Musgrave and Upper Malone
Black Mountain Andersonstown, Ballymurphy, Beechmount, Colin Glen, Falls Park, Shaw’s Road and Turf Lodge
Botanic Blackstaff, Central, Ormeau, Stranmillis and Windsor
Castle Bellevue, Cavehill, Chichester Park, Duncairn, Fortwilliam and Innisfayle
Collin Dunmurry, Ladybrook, Lagmore, Poleglass, Stewartstown and Twinbrook
Court Ballygomartin, Clonard, Falls, Forth River, Shankill and Woodvale
Lisnasharragh Cregagh, Hillfoot, Merok, Orangefield, Ravenhill and Rosetta
Oldpark Ardoyne, Ballysillan, Cliftonville, Legoniel, New Lodge, and Water Works
Ormiston Belmont, Garnerville, Gilnahirk, Knock, Sandown, Shandon and Stormont
Titanic Ballymacarrett, Beersbridge, Bloomfield, Connswater, Sydenham and Woodstock

The elected members provide leadership and oversee the day-to-day running of Belfast City Council.

Our councillors play a key role in representing the interests of their constituents and electoral areas. They are responsible for ensuring that the views of the people of Belfast are reflected in the decisions that the council takes and in the way services are delivered.

Find out information on:

Look at our A to Z of services

Read aloud icon Read aloud