Skip to main content

Councillor Micky Murray becomes new Lord Mayor of Belfast

Date: 03 Jun 2024

Lord Mayor Councillor Micky Murray

Belfast’s new Lord Mayor has spoken of his commitment to making Belfast a more inclusive and caring city during his year in office.

Councillor Micky Murray was speaking after tonight’s annual general meeting of council at City Hall, where he was installed as the Lord Mayor of Belfast, taking over the chain of office from Councillor Ryan Murphy.

The Alliance councillor represents the Balmoral area of the city and has served as a councillor since May 2022. He is the eighth Alliance Councillor to assume the role of Lord Mayor of Belfast.

“As the city’s first openly gay Lord Mayor, I want Belfast to be a place where everyone feels welcomed and included,” he said.

“A more inclusive, diverse and kinder city makes it better for everyone.

“I’m looking forward to meeting with groups and organisations city-wide who are working to achieve these goals and to using my time as Lord Mayor to highlight their work and showcase all that is good within our city.”

Councillor Murray (32), who has a background in the voluntary and community sector, said supporting those impacted by long-term homelessness would also be a priority for his term.

“I’m passionate about helping those with addiction and other challenges to break the cycle and get the help they need to get back on their feet.” he said.

“I want to use my experience to shine a spotlight on what is already being done in this area and to start a conversation about what more is needed to protect and support some of the most vulnerable in our communities.”

“I promise to represent Belfast to the best of my ability, with passion, enthusiasm and commitment and represent everyone right across the community.”

Councillor Andrew McCormick has also become the new Deputy Lord Mayor of Belfast.

A member of the Democratic Unionist Party, Councillor McCormick represents the Ormiston electoral area, and takes over from outgoing Deputy Lord Mayor, Councillor Áine Groogan.

Tonight’s meeting also saw the appointment of new committee chairs, with the meeting streamed live via the council’s website.

Read aloud icon Read aloud