Skip to main content

Photo competition winners in the spotlight

Date: 25 Oct 2018

The winners in Belfast City Council’s annual Parks Photographic Competition have been announced.

The winners in Belfast City Council’s annual Parks Photographic Competition were announced today (Thursday 25 October).

The popular competition, now in its 11th year, attracted almost 300 entries across its four categories.

After an extremely difficult judging process, the winners were determined to be:

Summertime In Our Parks:
1 - Marielle Hinggan (Victoria Park)
2 - Nicola Johnston (Botanic Gardens)
3 - Sian Kerr (Sir Thomas and Lady Dixon Park)

People In Our Parks
1 - Qingzhu Li (Waterworks)
2 - Minchen Liang (Sir Thomas and Lady Dixon Park)
3 - Bruce Marshall (Victoria Park)

Park Landscapes
1 - Judith Cochrane (Victoria Park)
2 - Ewelina Rutecka (Cave Hill Country Park)
3 - Philip McGowan (Lagan Meadows)

Under 16s
1 - Aaron Aicken (Cave Hill Country Park)
2 - Zoe Page (Botanic Gardens)
3 - Zara Crosbie (Sir Thomas and Lady Dixon Park)

The winners were presented with their prizes at a ceremony in Malone House this morning (Thursday 25 October) by Councillor Kate Nicholl, Chair of the Council’s People And Communities Committee, who said:

“The standard in this year’s competition was again extremely high. In fact, the judges have told me that it was the toughest one yet for them to judge. I would like to congratulate not only the winners, but also everyone who took part, for the beautiful images they produced and submitted.

“I also would like to thank our sponsors, John McQuillan (Contracts) Ltd, for their continued support of this wonderful competition, which certainly helps to showcase the beauty of the many parks around and within our city. I would also like to thank Jessops for their support and Aurora PA for their help in the judging process.”

The winning entries can be viewed on the Council’s website.

Read aloud icon Read aloud