A-Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Your council

In May 2014, 60 councillors were elected to represent the people of Belfast in the expanded city. Following a shadow period, the new Belfast City Council officially came into place on 1 April 2015.

We now serve an additional 53,000 residents with an overall population of 333,000. We are also responsible for new powers and services, including land-use planning, community planning and off-street parking. From 2016, we'll also have responsibility for enhanced economic, physical and social regeneration.

The 60 councillors represent the 10 areas of the new council area.

District electoral area (DEA) Electoral wards
Balmoral Belvoir, Finaghy, Malone, Musgrave and Upper Malone
Black Mountain Andersonstown, Ballymurphy, Beechmount, Colin Glen, Falls Park, Shaw’s Road and Turf Lodge
Botanic Blackstaff, Central, Ormeau, Stranmillis and Windsor
Castle Bellevue, Cavehill, Chichester Park, Duncairn, Fortwilliam and Innisfayle
Collin Dunmurry, Ladybrook, Lagmore, Poleglass, Stewartstown and Twinbrook
Court Ballygomartin, Clonard, Falls, Forth River, Shankill and Woodvale
Lisnasharragh Cregagh, Hillfoot, Merok, Orangefield, Ravenhill and Rosetta
Ardoyne, Ballysillan, Cliftonville, Legoniel, New Lodge, and Water Works
Belmont, Garnerville, Gilnahirk, Knock, Sandown, Shandon and Stormont
Titanic Ballymacarrett, Beersbridge, Bloomfield, Connswater, Sydenham and Woodstock

The 60 elected members provide leadership and oversee the day-to-day running of Belfast City Council.

Our councillors play a key role in representing the interests of their constituents and electoral areas. They are responsible for ensuring that the views of the people of Belfast are reflected in the decisions that the council takes and in the way services are delivered.

This section will give you information on:

Contact us
Democratic Services
028 9027 0497
Democratic Services
Belfast City Hall